Terms of Office

The City of Monterey Park is a General Law City, which is governed primarily by the State of California’s Government Code and operates under the Council-Manager form of government. The City Council are elected by districts for four-year, overlapping terms. The City Clerk and City Treasurer are also elected at large for a four-year term.

Per the voters approved Ordinance No. 2096 (PDF) the city has established term limits for City Council, City Clerk and City Treasurer, collectively referred to as "Public Official." No person may serve no more than two consecutive terms as a public official. Any person will again become eligible to hold public office as a public official provided not less than two years have or will have elapsed between the most recent date of such person’s previous service as a public official and the effective date of such person’s most recent election or appointment to public office. After such a two year absence, a new two consecutive term limit applies.

Senate Bill No. 415 (SB415) approved in 2015 prohibits local governments from holding their elections other than on a statewide election date. As a result, the City Council adopted Ordnance No. 2145 (PDF) changing the General Municipal Election from March in odd-numbered years to March in even-numbered years, to coincide with statewide election dates. For more information, view changes in election dates. Municipal elections are held every two years, on the first Tuesday in March of even-numbered years. Upcoming election dates are:

  • March 5, 2020 - Positions: Three Council Seats in Districts 2, 3 and 4
  • March 8, 2022 - Positions: Two Council Seats in Districts 1 and 5, City Clerk and City Treasurer
City CouncilTermTerm Ending
Yvonne Yiu, Mayor, District 21st TermMarch 5, 2024
Henry Lo, Mayor Pro Tem, District 41st TermMarch 5, 2024
Fred Sornoso, Council Member District 3
1st Term
March 5, 2024
Hans Liang, Council Member, District 1
2nd Term
March 8, 2022
Peter Chan, Council Member, District 5
2nd Term
March 8, 2022
Elected City OfficialsTermTerm Ending
Vincent D. Chang, City Clerk2nd TermMarch 8, 2022
Joseph Leon, City Treasurer2nd TermMarch 8, 2022
Appointed City Officials
Ron Bow, City ManagerContract
Karl Berger, City Attorney  Contract

View the Salary Schedule to view elected official compensation and benefits.

City Council Meetings

The City Council and Successor Agency meetings are held on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at 320 West Newmark Avenue. For the benefit and convenience of the community, meetings are broadcast live on MPK-TV and replays scheduled daily. Find more information.