Environmental Commission

Regular Meeting

  • 6:00 p.m.
  • Second Tuesday of the month
  • City Hall, Engineering Conference Room
    320 West Newmark Avenue
    Monterey Park, CA 91754

Agendas & Minutes


Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent AgendaView All Agendas and Minutes


  • Shirley Hwong (Co-Chair), Seat One
  • Vacant, Seat Two
  • Karl Wong (Chair), Seat Three
  • Sam Cheung, Seat Four
  • Stephen Fong, Seat Five
  • Athena Katlyn Flores, Youth Advisor
  • Spencer Lin, Youth Advisor

Additional Information

Staff Liaison

Principal Management Analyst Bonnie Tam

About the Commission

The Environmental Commission seeks to be a focal point for information to guide city leaders on environmental issues and promote environmental awareness in the community.

Membership Requirements

Commissioner membership eligibility requires one of the following:
  1. Resident of Monterey Park
  2. An individual operating or working in Monterey Park
  3. A professional / scholar in the environmental field
Youth Advisor membership eligibility requires the following:  

  1. Resident of Monterey Park
  2. Enrollment in a school of Monterey Park
If you are interested in becoming a commissioner or youth advisor, please complete the application and submit to the City Clerk's Office at City Hall, 320 West Newmark Avenue, Monterey Park, CA 91754


At their meeting of March 2, 2005, the City Council unanimously approved Ordinance 2029 to create the Environmental Commission that would assist the City in preserving its natural resources and the sustainability of the community. The ordinance sets forth the Commission's responsibilities to:
  • Serve in advisory capacity to the City Council on related issues
  • Assist in issues that are deemed necessary for the environmental integrity of the City of Monterey Park
  • Monitor legislative activities
  • Develop and implement policies and procedures
  • Advocate and promote programs to increase awareness of the environment
  • Investigate funding to implement programs to benefit the community
Each of the five City Council members nominates a commissioner who is then subject to be ratified by the full Council.   Youth Advisor members are non-voting members and appointed by the Commission.